MechHero Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Poll

Which one is better?

New layout is a way to go, but needs improvement
The old layout is better, but it needs improvement

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New units list (experimental)  (Read 9839 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pankleks

  • Administrator
  • Nova
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
New units list (experimental)
« on: June 03, 2011, 10:53:25 AM »

Hello,

We are working on improving unit list, as main purpose of improvement is to get better usability, we are looking for your feedback.

New unit lists is available as additional tab (My units), there is limited functionality there (main purpose is for users to validate new layout).

Functions available for now:
- one click (select unit)
- double click (opens unit properties)
- mouse over (equipment list)
- group by (allow to change display grouping)
- select all (selects all units)
- units being currently serviced are grayed-out

Planned features:
- Popup screens for (equipment change, behaviour change)

IMPORTANT:
- Since it's only development version - it has been validated on FireFox 4.0 browser only (it might has some issues on other browsers)
- Keep in mind that in future we won't support both, so at the end it's one or the other.

Looking forward for your feedback!
« Last Edit: June 03, 2011, 06:46:05 PM by pankleks »
Logged

Sturm

  • Guest
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2011, 11:25:04 AM »

Excellent, very nice guys. One addition I would like to see right off the bat though is something underneath the unit name in the card, name of group unit has been assigned to.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2011, 11:30:04 AM by Sturm »
Logged

viexy

  • Raptor
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • Email
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2011, 11:26:09 AM »

The visual effect is more pleasant. However, if one has 50 mechs, readability may be an easy month. Be able to choose between one or the other aspect would be nice.
As cards.
Logged

Socrates

  • Vulture
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2011, 11:33:13 AM »

Yes. I too think it looks nice and that the addition of Unit Name would be a good add. What would the Sort By choices be ?
1) Cell usage (low to high)
2) Cell usage ( high to low)
N) weapon strength
N) defensive strength
N) group strength
N) mech level

My 2cents worth

Soc.
S2
Logged

hezz

  • Raptor
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2011, 11:41:06 AM »

nice, if u leave old one as choice too, this new layout could be primary in all new created accounts, thus giving new player a little better eye candy :] but i think old one should stay too, and make code remember what was opened last time, ie old layout, then after clicking "mechs" we wont have to switch
Logged

pankleks

  • Administrator
  • Nova
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2011, 12:01:49 PM »

actually we probably won't be able to support both, so it's one or the other.

Keep in mind that game is going into direction of operating with less units.
Logged

adamsky

  • Administrator
  • Nova
  • *****
  • Posts: 3781
    • Email
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2011, 12:15:51 PM »

I think you should add one more option: old one with weapon list added to each Mech and grouping options.
Logged

fedaykin

  • translations_ro
  • Puma
  • *
  • Posts: 68
    • Email
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2011, 12:23:45 PM »

If you choose a city to attack or a NPC
the group checkbox doesn't work in the old view
Logged

Mastermind

  • Raptor
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Email
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2011, 12:29:01 PM »

I Think your idea is cool.. so with this size of square for every unit we must get more info.. the Image can be reduced and more info can be show there..
Like

-Build
-Behavior

And we need another option: Re-arm/Repair for various Mech at same time.. like the work of repair and re-arm separated now on the server.. simplify in one button or add like 3rd Option
What u say?..
Logged

pankleks

  • Administrator
  • Nova
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2011, 12:34:15 PM »

these options will be there, for now it's just to show you new layout

as both layouts needs to have improvements we changed pool questions.
So it's really voting for pure layout (assuming that both can have similar functions)
« Last Edit: June 03, 2011, 12:37:54 PM by pankleks »
Logged

Sturm

  • Guest
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2011, 12:54:40 PM »

I would prefer 3 rows of 5 mechs (since max # per line=15 units). Currently appears to be 3 rows of 4 units per row, but my units aren't displayed quite right it seems. heres a screenshot.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Logged

Mastermind

  • Raptor
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Email
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #11 on: June 03, 2011, 02:29:27 PM »

these options will be there, for now it's just to show you new layout

as both layouts needs to have improvements we changed pool questions.
So it's really voting for pure layout (assuming that both can have similar functions)


Yes i know.. so the new display can show more than 4 units?? i think 6 Units for each file will be good.. i think on people who have or will have 45+Units on the city. How to manage this amount of mechs with files of 4 mechs??..  :o
Logged

Birchy

  • Raptor
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Email
temp
« Reply #12 on: June 03, 2011, 04:48:37 PM »

I would just like to know; how come the first row has 5 then the next only have 4? :S 

If you'd also notice, the Nova box is shorter... just needs pulling up a bit :D

Logged

pankleks

  • Administrator
  • Nova
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2011, 05:16:22 PM »

added:
- unit type, level + cell usage into tooltip,
- groups selection
- fix: for 5 in a row display (hopefully)
Logged

Sturm

  • Guest
Re: New units list (experimental)
« Reply #14 on: June 03, 2011, 05:24:39 PM »

It's working ;D
Logged
Pages: [1] 2